Today, I Saw a Prince

His mom, the late Diana Princess of Wales, was a great supporter of the cancer hospital where I am currently working. Today, Prince William was there to show his support to the hospital charity and continue his late mother’s passion for good cause.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
The Would-be King
(photo borrowed from the Prince of Wales website)

What did he do in the hospital? He was shown the different projects aimed at providing excellent cancer care. He went round the different wards to visit the staff and patients. He had lunch at the hospital restaurant (I heard that he had jacket potatoes).

How did I found out that he was around? I was on study day. At lunchtime, I went to our office with a colleague of mine. We were surprised to see some really beautiful bunch of exotic flowers from the reception and along the main hospital corridor. Huge birds-of-paradise were hanging from every vase. We asked one of our porter friends, “What’s going on?” He replied, “Have you seen him?” We asked, “Who?” We never thought that it was “PRINCE WILLIAM”. I cannot remember how I replied but in my mind were rolling a big “Oh my Gosh!”, a hopeful “Do I look fine to meet the prince?” and a very excited “Where is he?”.

Nobody knew where he was, how can I find the prince? Time is out. I had to head back to the classroom. Okay, dream was over. I won’t be able to see him. I thought I missed him! Well, almost! The cordless phone rang. It was reception, “Prince William was looking for me!” Just kidding, a patient left some Christmas presents for us and we need to collect it. So at coffeebreak, we went to the hospital reception. After five minutes, there he was, everyone’s prince charming!

What was he wearing? When I first saw him, it was during the Queen’s Golden Jubillee Celebration in 2002. My husband and I were in the Buckingham Palace Gates when the entire royal family was at the palace balcony waving their hands to well-wishers. Today is very exciting because I was literally three feet away from him!

Okay, I have to be accurate now. He’s got a green jumper on with a white shirt inside. He was wearing a yellow-brown pair of trousers and I cannot believe this, I cannot remember what colour of shoes he was wearing! Anyway, I don’t think it’s black. He is far more handsome in person than on television. He is terribly good-looking, like Diana, perhaps.

Did he look at me? (I apologise for my shallowness!) About a second, we were eye to eye. I almost collapsed! My colleague who was standing next to me was also head over heels! (He was very polite and nice to give everyone a piece of his lovely eyes).

What is so special about seeing Prince William? It is probably every girl’s dream to see a real prince. For me, that box is finally ticked. Never did I dream that it would be that close! (The fact that he is such a beautiful creature is a real bonus!)

So after all the excitement… I heard that Prince Charles and his Camilla are also coming. But since it’s already past five, it’s time to go home. Being in the same place with and just a few feet away from the royals is a very rare opportunity. However, I have to go home and have dinner with my real life prince!

(And they lived happily ever after. Charles and Camilla?)

10 thoughts on “Today, I Saw a Prince

  1. maan

    Thanks for all your messages. At the time of writing this message, the elation of seeing him is now gone…just woke up from a nice dream!

    Molly, I will surely wait for that pic of your brother..my sister will jump for joy if she has it! Lol. Can I forward it to her?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kid Ric

    Way cool.

    The 4 hour Basement Jam loop is up and running smoothly. Three cheers for Rachel Fuller, Pete Townshend and the team at eelpie!!

    I don’t know about you but I’m ready for a party! I will be hosting the “In the Basement” loop chat and be in Ballerina Gurl’s chat – http://pub6.bravenet.com/chat/show.php/456044885 – around 5:15 pm eastern time Sunday December 11. I tried to base this time around the majority. Sorry if it does not fit your schedule? I have invited a special mystery guest co-host, who has excepted, and you never know who else may honor us with an appearance. The loop should start at 5:30 pm. eastern. You are cordially invited to stop by and join us. Thanks.

    Peace, love and light.

    Like

    Reply
  3. BallerinaGurl

    NO YOU TWO Will live happily ever after! LOL (they can just rot in their sins…..Oh kidding…I don’t judge! Really!

    Prince William and my brother look a lot alike. I shall send you a pic sometime!

    I am so happy you met. What a next experience. Over here Royal means nothing. Oh well….back to our soap operas! lol

    Like

    Reply
  4. TEACHER SOL

    OMG Malt! A dream come true! Ang swerte mo naman!

    My reply to your comment, dinala ko na rito, hehe:

    HELLO there!

    Cases of child ADHD/ADD is equally rampant as in other parts of the world. It’s slowly given attention in Manila and in major cities back home who have very good Clinical Psychologists and Developmental Pediatricians.

    I can give one person who is an expert in this field, well trained and well known by Clinicians, Psychologists and Psychiatrists in this profession. Have you heard of Dr. Leticia Penano-Ho? She is a Clinical Psychologist and was the Dean of the College of Education in UP Diliman when I left in 2003. Maybe you can inquire about her there.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

