The Giant Slides of Tate

Last Friday, A and I together with a church friend met at Southbank. Southbank is one of our favourite London walks. It is full of dynamism and vibrance but relaxing at the same time. We usually walk here from London Bridge to Waterloo station. We walk along the river Thames and enjoy sights such as the Southwark Cathedral, the Golden Hinde, remnants of Winchester Palace, the Clink, Vinopolis, loads of pubs and restaurants, Tate Modern, Millenium Bridge, the Watercolour Society, The Coin Street (including Oxo Tower), Gabriel’s Wharf, The National Film Theatre, Royal Festival Hall, Jubillee Bridge… If I missed anything else, I will be utmostly gutted. We have walked along this side of the River for probably hundreds of times!

The current exhibit in the Turbine Hall of the in Tate Modern is called the Test Series by Carsten Höller. It was described by the French writer Roger Caillois as a ‘voluptuous panic upon an otherwise lucid mind’. Visitors are allowed to try on the slide. Höller aims to answer the question, “How might a daily dose of sliding affect the way we perceive the world? Can slides become part of our experiential and architectural life?”.

As for me, I still don’t know the feeling. A and I are going back today and will have a slide or two.

But for now, I will say that no matter what others say that it isn’t an art, for me I saw a double-helix — the strand of the human life: a DNA! I can’t help but show fascination. To enjoy a giant helical slide that looks like a DNA is such a surprise for a science-lover like me.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

7 thoughts on “The Giant Slides of Tate

  1. gairon

    Hello! Ang saya-saya naman dyan. Sana makaisip din ang mga Pilipino dito sa Pilipinas tulad ng ganyan. Napaka perpektong desenyo para sa isang amusement, pero kung tutu-usin tama ka Merry isa itong likhang sining ng syensya. Matagal at mahirap ang kompyutasyon ng bawat formula lalo na sa engineering nyan. Salamat sayo at kahit papano ay naibahagi mo ang tulad ng ganitong napakagandang desenyo.

    Like

    Reply
  2. maan

    ATE EWOK: I also thought that it looke like DNA!

    NAO: Yes, life recently is full of fun and running around! I am enjoying it. Hope u are also well. See you in mansion.

    YEN and JAMIE: Come to London and I will show you around. Promise!

    THINZ: I can’t open the link. Hope you are well.

    Like

    Reply
  3. jamie

    ganda…. ako rin kelan kaya ako makakapunta…. hehe.. i can’t wait!!! basta pag may chance at may datung na dalhin mo ko sa mga ganyang lugar pag bumisita ako ha… miss yah sis… iingat parati!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Photo Cache

    Maan am sure you bring your camera to these walks. Pics naman oh. The slides look like DNA material (?) to me. So this is an interactive art huh. Pretty cool. One time may nakabaligtad na kotse sa lobby ng isang art center dito tapos it was fenced in by the yellow tape (crime scene tape) with a big sign posted: DO NOT CALL 911. THIS IS AN ART. That cracked me up. Too bad, the one time I did not bring my camera.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

